New General Assembly Candidates Updates

Unofficial candidate list - Updated 4/2/2015 - 5:13 p.m.

Senate Candidates

District 8

  • Craig Hudgins will face Del. Bill Desteph for the GOP nomination to replace retiring Senator Jeff McWaters (R).

District 14

  • Bill Haley has filed to challenge incumbent Sen. John Cosgrove for the Republican nomination.

District 36

  • Mark Cannady did not qualify for the primary ballot. This leaves Del. Scott Surovell as the Democratic nominee in the district now represented by retiring Sen. Toddy Puller (D).

District 39

  • Joe Murray, a Republican, is challenging Democratic incumbent Sen. George Barker (D).

House Candidates

District 31

  • Sara Townsend, an Independent, is challenging incumbent Del. Scott Lingamfelter (R).

District 44

  • Justin Brown will face Paul Krizek in a Democratic primary. The seat is currently held by Del. Scott Surovell, who is running for the state Senate.

District 63

  • "Mouse" Jones has filed to be the fifth Democrat running in a June 9 primary in a district now represented by Del. Joe Preston, who is running for the state Senate.

District 69

  • Preston Brown has filed paperwork to set up a Democratic primary against incumbent Del. Betsy Carr.

District 71

  • Steve Imholt, an Independent, has filed to challenge incumbent Del. Jennifer McClellan (D).

District 74

  • Stephen Adkins is facing three other candidates in a Democratic primary to replace Joe Morrissey, who recently gave up his office to run for the state Senate.

District 86

  • Danny Vargas, a Republican, is running for a seat now held by retiring Del. Tom Rust. 

VPAP will continue to post new candidates as they annouce and file Statements of Organization with the State Department of Elections. Candidates who begin raising money now will file their first campaign finance report in mid-April.




April 2, 2015

Updates Home

Updates RSS Feed

Browse updates by month:

November 2018
October 2018
September 2018
August 2018
July 2018
June 2018

(Show All)