Vacant Leadership Positions in House Committees

Retirements and election defeats will combine to roil committee leadership when the House of Delegates convenes in January. Assuming Republicans retain a 51-49 margin in the House, Speaker-designate Kirk Cox will fill vacancies in five committee chairs and 12 subcommittee chairs. If election recounts force the two parties to share power, there could be wholesale changes.

Below is a list of committee leadership vacancies created by the retirement or defeat of 19 incumbent delegates:


Vacant Leadership Positions

Agriculture, Chesapeake & Natural Resources



Subcommittee Chairs:

  • Commerce, Agriculture, Natural Resources and Technology (O'Bannon)
  • Elementary & Secondary Education (Massie)
  • General Government & Capital Outlay (Greason)
  • Higher Education (Cox)
  • Public Safety (Lingamfelter)

Commerce and Labor


Counties, Cities and Towns


Courts of Justice

Committee Chair (Albo)

Subcommittee Chairs:

  • Subcommittee on Ethics (Minchew)
  • Judicial Appointments (Loupassi)


Subcommittee Chairs:

  • Education Innovation (Greason)
  • Higher Education (Massie)



General Laws

Subcommittee Chair:

  • Subcommittee #2 (LeMunyon)

Health, Welfare and Institutions

Subcommittee Chair:

  • Subcommittee #1 (O'Bannon) 

Militia, Police and Public Safety

Committee Chair (Lingamfelter)

Privileges and Elections

Sub Committee Chair:

  • Appointments (Miller)


Committee Chair (Howell)

Science and Technology

Committee Chair (Anderson)


Committee Chair (Villanueva)

Dec. 2, 2017

Updates Home

Updates RSS Feed

Browse updates by month:

October 2018
September 2018
August 2018
July 2018
June 2018
May 2018

(Show All)