2017 House Committee Assignments

Speaker Bill Howell has announced new committee assignments for the three new members who have been elected in the past year.

Cliff Hayes (D-Chesapeake), Rocky Holcomb (R-Virginia Beach), and Mike Mullin (D-Newport News) – largely inherited the committee assignments of the delegates they replaced.

Still to be determined is how Howell divvies up the committee assignments of Senator-elect Jennifer McClellan. Her portfolio had been Commerce & Labor; Courts of Justice; and Education.

Meanwhile, here are the assignments announced today:

Del. Cliff Hayes

  • Counties, Cities & Towns
  • Health, Welfare & Institutions

Two other committee assignments of predecessor (Lionell Spruill) were assigned to members with higher rank:

  • Del. Joe Lindsey (D-Norfolk): Commerce & Labor
  • Del. Jeion Ward (D-Hampton): Rules


Del. Rocky Holcomb

  • Counties, Cities & Towns
  • Finance

One other committee assignment of predecessor (Scott Taylor) was assigned to a member with higher rank:

  • Del. Chris Collins (R-Winchester): Transportation


Del. Mike Mullin

  • Counties, Cities & Towns
  • Courts of Justice


In other moves:

Del. Joe Lindsey
In order to take a seat on Commerce and Labor, Lindsey was removed from Appropriations.

Del. Lashrecse Aird (D-Petersburg)
Assigned to Lindsey’s seat on Appropriations; she was removed from Finance.

Del. Steve Heretick (D-Portsmouth)
Appointed to Finance.

Jan. 11, 2017