Governor's Bipartisan Redistricting Panel

Gov. Bob McDonnell has appointed an 11-member bipartisan advisory panel on commission.

The commission can create its own plans or accept plans from the public. The commission is advisory in nature; the General Assembly is not bound by its recommendations.

The commission members are:

  • Chairman- Bob Holsworth, managing partner of DecideSmart and founder of the non-partisan Web site,
  • Gary Baise, principal, Olsson Frank Weeda
  • Viola Baskerville, former member, Virginia House of Delegates, former state Secretary of Administration
  • Barry DuVal, president, Virginia Chamber of Commerce, former mayor of Newport News, former Secretary of Commerce and Trade
  • Jim Dyke, partner, McGuireWoods, former Virginia Secretary of Education, former chairman, Greater Washington Board of Trade
  • Jean Jensen, former secretary, State Board of Elections, former executive director, Democratic Party of Virginia
  • Sam Johnston, former judge, 24th Judicial Circuit
  • Walt Kelley, former judge, U.S. District Court, Eastern District of Virginia
  • Sean O'Brien, executive director, Center for the Constitution at James Madison's Montpelier
  • Cameron Quinn, former secretary, State Board of Elections
  • Ashley Taylor, partner, Troutman Sanders, former commissioner, U.S. Commission on Civil Rights

Governor's Press Release

Press Accounts

Washington Post


Free-Lance Star

Richmond Times-Dispatch

Jan. 10, 2011

Updates Home

Updates RSS Feed