Political Change, Cultural Shift

The change in party leadership in the House of Delegates means that vote-rich Northern Virginia has gone from a lock on House committee chairs to none at all. The geographical distribution of House committee chairs now reflects the downstate makeup of the 52-member Republican Caucus.

Geographic Distribution of House Committee Chairs

2022 House Committee Chairs

Agriculture, Chesapeake & Natural Resources Lee Ware Capital Region
Appropriations Barry Knight Hampton Roads
Commerce and Energy Kathy Byron Southside
Communications, Technology and Innovation Emily Brewer Southside
Counties, Cities & Towns Keith Hodges Tidewater
Courts of Justice Rob Bell Piedmont
Education Glenn Davis Hampton Roads
Finance Roxann Robinson Capital Region
General Laws Jay Leftwich Hampton Roads
Health, Welfare & Institutions Bobby Orrock Piedmont
Privileges & Elections Margaret Ransone Tidewater
Public Safety Tony Wilt Valley
Transportation Terry Austin Valley
Rules Todd Gilbert Valley

Source: Virginia Legislative Information System

Jan. 13, 2022